What I Did with a Guitar When I Was Young

When I was young and my heart was an open book… Okay, that was not it. I never was and never am a guitar player. I picked up guitar back in 2000 and, until today, I never managed to get past basic chords and scales. However, in 2003 and 2004, I had a very strong drive to create some guitar-driven music, which was mainly fueled by the surrounding experimental and noise music scene at that time, which circled around toying with a guitar or guitars, unusual instruments and electronic embellishments. Since I had almost no budget to afford a guitar, I borrowed two guitars on two separate occasions. The first one was borrowed from Dody (Hermayadi Ardisoma), my neighbor and senior at the university, some time in 2003. It was a generic-looking black Samick guitar, whose sound I have taken to like. The second was borrowed from a friend of mine (name classified) during KKN (field work) in 2004. It was a Japan-made ivory Fender Telecaster that had been sitting in his cupboard for almost a year. It was a bit rusty and dirty, but useable.

The recording process was amateurish at best: guitar directly plugged into computer soundcard without external DAC/pre-amp or interface. This accounts for some noise that was later reduced during editing and mixing process. Takes were recorded using SoundForge (back then it was SonicFoundry’s, not yet Sony’s), and synthesizer and drum tracks were created on Fruity Loops (now FL Studio). These were all finally mixed and mastered, if you can call them mixing and mastering, on SoundForge. So, voila, here are six tracks from a person who could not actually play guitar. The seventh track is a bonus track featuring my friend, Andy Dwi (a real guitarist) on guitar with me on piano and drum programming. Pardon the lack of melody and virtuosity. Consider you’ve been warned.

Fanfare for the Self
Sandya Maulana: synthesizer, guitar, drum programming

The Room Re-revisited (including the Madcaps) (2009 remix)
Sandya Maulana: guitar, ballpoint caps, synthesizer

After All
Sandya Maulana: guitars, synthesizer, drum programming

Dinosaurs in D
Sandya Maulana: guitar, vocals, treatment, drum programming
Contains performances of excerpts from “I Know What I Like” by Genesis and samples of “Closer to the Heart” by Rush

Is It?
Sandya Maulana: Synthesizer, TS808, guitar, drum programming

The Room Revisited (including the Schedule)
Sandya Maulana: guitar, treatment, computer keyboard

Self-Indulgent Blues
Sandya Maulana: piano, synthesizer, drum programming
Andy Dwi: guitar

 

Leave a Reply

